Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee

Monday, October 23, 2017 10:00 am Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Edward R. Tallon, Sr., on Monday, October 23, 2017, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Chairman Tallon, Representative Katherine E. Arrington, and Representative William M. Hixon.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Hixon makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the prior Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Hixon's motion to approve the minutes from the October 17, 2017 meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			Not Present
Rep. Tallon	✓		

Discussion of the Department of Natural Resources

I. Chairman Tallon asks if members have any motions based on information received thus far during the study. Rep. Arrington and Rep. Hixon make several motions which are listed below.

Rep. Arrington's motion that the Subcommittee Study approve each of the agency's recommended changes to law which are in the agency's Program Evaluation Report (PER) and the agency has indicated do not impact any other agency. (The PER is available online for the public to view) The item numbers presented at the meeting on October 9, 2017, include those numbered 33, 43, and 85. The item numbers presented at the meeting on October 17, 2017 include those numbered 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 21, 23, 25, 26, 28, 80, and 81.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			Not Present
Rep. Tallon	✓		

Rep. Arrington's motion that the Subcommittee Study include a recommendation that the agency email all	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
municipalities a link whenever GIS data is updated.			
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			Not Present

Rep. Hixon's motion that the Subcommittee Study include a recommendation that the agency notify the applicable county tax assessors whenever a property is deemed to be in a flood plain and the county tax assessor provide notice to the applicable property owners via the owners tax assessment notice.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			Not Present
Rep. Tallon	✓		

✓

- II. Chairman Tallon explains the purpose of the remainder of the meeting today is to receive details about the agency's Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division (WFF). He reminds those who were sworn in during prior meetings that they remain under oath anytime they are with the Subcommittee or Committee. Also, he swears in the following individuals:
 - a. Mr. Ross Self, Chief of Freshwater Fisheries Section; and
 - b. Mr. Billy Dukes, Chief of Wildlife Management.
- III. Ms. Emily Cope, Deputy Director of the agency's WFF Division provides information on the following topics related to this division:
 - a. Organization of the division;
 - b. Products and services;

Rep. Tallon

- c. Portions of the agency's strategic plan related to the division;
- d. Strategic resource allocation; and
- e. Performance measures.

Subcommittee members ask questions which Ms. Cope and other agency representatives answer.

IV. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.